The board of advisors of the Swain County Community Foundation is currently accepting grant requests for community projects funded from its community fund, according to Mark Hanna, grants chair.

            Funds are available for nonprofit organizations that serve general charitable needs in Swain County that have not participated in the United Gift Fund campaign this past year. 

            Applications are available online only beginning March 1, 2012. Visit for information about applying online.  The deadline for submitting applications is April 20, 2012.

The Swain County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation.  The community fund was established to help support local charitable needs through annual grants.  In addition to Mr. Hanna, Swain County Community Foundation board members are:  Elise Delfield, Toby Allman, Christine Colcord, Tetia McMichael, John Burton, Nira Franklin, Dewight Winchester, Jeremiah Wiggins, Lucretia Stargell, Mary Anne Baker, and William Styles.   If you are interested in hearing more about the Foundation and the possibility of becoming a board member, please contact Sue LeLievre at:  800-201-9532 or by email at:


− MORE −




About NCCF

The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has made nearly $63 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $145 million in assets, the NCCF sustains 1,000 plus funds and endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with 60 affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance in 67 counties across the state. An important component of the NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels. For more information, visit and Facebook.



Back to Top