The Women’s Impact Network of New Hanover County (WIN) has named three new committee chairs to its leadership team. The three will assume their duties in November and will serve two-year terms.

Amy Horgan, a System of Care coordinator, is WIN’s incoming grants committee chair, replacing Susan Henley. Carol Kennedy, a health care professional, will become membership chair, following Michelle Clark in that role. Jenny Callison, a communications professional, will take the reins of the communications committee from Jane Martin.

Continuing in leadership positions are Linda Brown, WIN’s chairwoman since last spring; Nancy Scott-Finan, recording secretary and WIN at-large team member; Leigh Johnson, special events committee chair; Liz Kachris-Jones, education committee chair; Laurie Taylor, WIN representative to the North Carolina Community Foundation Statewide Women’s Fund Grant Committee; and Melissa Phillippi, WIN vice chairwoman and strategic planning facilitator.

Founded in 2011 with 24 members as a collective philanthropy organization, WIN has now grown to 88 members and has made five annual grants totaling $142,500. Recipients are Guardian Ad Litem (2012), DREAMS of Wilmington (2013), Wilmington Access for Teams (WHAT, 2014), The Carousel Center (2015) and SkyWatch Bird Rescue (2016).

Each year, the membership decides among four funding categories – education, health care, arts and culture and the environment – and invites area organizations involved in the chosen sector to submit grant applications. Once the grants committee selects the strongest applications, WIN members vote to determine the recipient.

Share this:

Back to Top