Historical milestones

First annual Raleigh luncheon speaker: Elizabeth Dole, Honorary Chair

First annual Charlotte dinner speaker and Sandhills luncheon speaker: Jane Brody, New York Times columnist

Historical tea and luncheon: Madeleine K. Albright (then representative of the US to the UN; later US Secretary of State) and Senator Jesse Helms

Self-Esteem Conference: Dr. Pouru Bhiwandi, Jane Brody, Dr. Carolyn Dunn,

Shortchanging Girls -- Shortchanging NC: Nora Lynn Finch, Shirley Frye, Patricia Hunt, Judy Mann, Betty Ray McCain, Dr. Linnea Smith, Michelle Warren, Dr. Ruth Dial Woods