Biogen Foundation awards more than $125K in STEM grants for NC schools

The Biogen Foundation has awarded more than $125,000 in grants to support science education programs and projects in schools across North Carolina.

The Foundation’s “Ignite the Power of STEM” program awarded 39 grants to teachers’ and schools’ STEM education programs that serve K-12 students across North Carolina. Funded programs ranged from introducing biotechnology to students using a lab on gene transformation to providing students with a place to explore food and the production process. In many of the schools, 90-100% of students receive free or reduced lunch services. The program was administered by the North Carolina Community Foundation.

“We want to spark a passion for science among North Carolina students of all ages,” said Gena Renfrow, Biogen Foundation NC Administrator. “This program is designed to help students experience the fun and power of hands-on science learning and to know that science careers are within their reach.”

Ignite the Power of STEM grant recipients include:

  • A. B. Combs Leadership Magnet Elementary School
  • A.L. Stanback/Orange County Schools
  • Abbotts Creek Elementary School
  • Aulander Elementary STEM School
  • Brogden Middle School
  • Burton Elementary
  • Carr Elementary
  • Carver Middle School STEM Academy
  • Central Park School for Children
  • Crossroads FLEX High School
  • Edgecombe Early College High School
  • Elizabeth City-Pasquotank County Public Schools
  • Gardner Park Elementary School
  • Grandview Middle School
  • Grifton School
  • Hiddenite Elementary -- STEAM Club
  • Highland Mill Montessori School
  • Iotla Valley Elementary
  • Jefferson Elementary
  • KIPP GCP Pride High School
  • Meadowview Magnet Middle School
  • Middle College High School at Durham Technical Community College
  • Mitchell High School
  • Murphey Traditional Academy
  • Oak View Elementary
  • Pilot Mountain Elementary School
  • Pine Forest High School
  • Pineville Elementary
  • Polk County High School
  • Pumpkin Center Intermediate School
  • Research Triangle High School
  • Riverside Middle School
  • Robinson Elementary School
  • Smith Middle School
  • South Stokes High School
  • Tabor City Elementary School
  • Virgo Preparatory Academy
  • Washington County Schools/Creswell High School
  • Westfield Elementary School