Our Board

NCCF Board of Directors

Katharine “Kack” Harrison Hardin

Office Administrator, James C. Hardin III, PLLC
Rock Hill, SC

John Willingham

Vice Chair and Chair, Grants
President, Indera Mills
Yadkinville, NC

Steven Wangerin

Immediate Past Chair
Executive Vice President and Chief Credit Officer, Coastal Bank & Trust
Jacksonville, NC

Tim Nicholls

Founder, Nicholls & Crampton
Raleigh, NC

Mary Willis

Treasurer/Chair, Finance
Chair, CEO and President, Fidelity Bank
Fuquay-Varina, NC

Jan Hayes

Chair, Affiliate Impact
Managing Partner, Hayes Group Consulting, LLC
Sanford, NC

John R. Bratton

Chair, Development
Vice Chairman, Wake Stone Corporation
Raleigh, NC

Catharine Biggs Arrowood

Chair, Governance
Retired Of Counsel, Parker Poe
Raleigh, NC

Angela Watkins Gailliard

Chair, Audit
Director of Programs, Golden Leaf Foundation
Rocky Mount, NC

Peter M. Bristow

President, First Citizens Bank
Raleigh, NC

William Brody

CEO and Founder, Nooshee
Raleigh, NC

Leroy Davis, Jr.

Vice President in Philanthropy and Community Impact and Head of Grant Administration, Wells Fargo
Winston-Salem, NC

Charles “Chuck” Lovelace

Former Executive Director, Morehead-Cain Foundation
Chapel Hill, NC

Hilda Pinnix-Ragland

Former Corporate Officer, Duke Energy Managing Partner, AHK Global Resources
Raleigh, NC

Todd Sears

CEO and Founder, Out Leadership
New York City, NY

Jane Thorne

Community advocate
Tarboro, NC

Directors Emeriti

Henry E. Frye

Of Counsel, Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP

Charles Gaddy*

Gaddy Real Estate Company

Lewis R. Holding*

Founding Chairman, NCCF
CEO, First Citizens BancShares

The Honorable James E. Holshouser, Jr.*

Former Governor, State of North Carolina

John R. Jordan, Jr.*

Attorney, Jordan, Price, Wall, Gray, Jones & Carlton

W. Trent Ragland, Jr.*

Vice President Emeritus, Martin-Marietta Aggregates

The Honorable Robert W. Scott*

Former Governor, State of North Carolina

Sherwood H. Smith, Jr.

Chairman Emeritus, Progress Energy

Billy T. Woodard*

Retired Chairman, The Fidelity Bank

Annabelle L. Fetterman*

Retired CEO, Lundy Packing Company

Martha Guy*

Retired President, Avery County Bank

Past Chairs

Lewis R. Holding*

1988 – 2002

Charles W. Gaddy*

2003 – 2004

C. Ron Scheeler

June 2004 – March 2009

James W. Narron

April 2009 – March 2012

Stuart B. Dorsett

April 2012 – March 2015

Linda J. Staunch

April 2015 – March 2017

James B. Black, III

April 2017 – March 2019

Rodney E. Martin*

April 2019 – March 2021

Steve Wangerin

June 2021 – March 2023
* Deceased