Four Avery County High School students awarded scholarships

NEWLAND, N.C., — Avery County High School graduates Briahna Barrier, Cameron Burnop, Emily Duncan and Samuel Ayden Ray were awarded 2023 scholarships through the North Carolina Community Foundation.
BurnopDuncanBurnop and Duncan received the Bob and Ann Cook Scholarship. Burnop is pursuing a degree in welding technology and Duncan is studying nursing. Both will attend Mayland Community College and each received $2,810. 

Ray received the F.H. “Sammy” Ross, Jr., and Gary “GJ” Johnson Memorial Scholarship. Ray will study engineering at North Carolina State University and received $14,000.


The Avery Community Foundation, an affiliate of NCCF, selected the recipients of the Bob and Ann Cook Scholarship and F.H. “Sammy” Ross, Jr., and Gary “GJ” Johnson Memorial Scholarship.

BarrierBriahna Barrier, who will study nursing at East Tennessee State University, received the Isabella Scholarship of $750. The Isabella Scholarship is administered through the R & S Endowment, a fund of NCCF.

“We are so honored to award scholarships to these Avery County students and we cannot wait to see what they will achieve next,” said Gwen Clark, Avery Community Foundation scholarship committee chair. 

About the North Carolina Community Foundation
The North Carolina Community Foundation is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $243 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $440 million in assets, NCCF sustains more than 1,200 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships.

NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at the local, regional and national levels. To learn more, visit

About the Avery Community Foundation
The Avery Community Foundation is an affiliate of NCCF. It is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of Avery County. To learn more, visit

Media Contact
Hannah Hogewood, NCCF Marketing & Communications Manager; 919-256-6901