Jones County Community Foundation hosts grant awards program

Left to right:  Vic Bryan, JCCF President; Dan Ryan, JCCF Grant Chair; Brandon Gawlowski, Jones County Fire & EMS; Fire Chief – Michael Jordan of JC Fire & EMS; Pat McElcraft, State Representative from Jones County.

The Jones County Community Foundation honored Maysville Fire and EMS with a grant award for the Fire Suppression Training Simulator at a grant awards reception held at Brock’s Mill on Monday, Oct. 19.

Vic Bryan, board of advisors president, applauded the efforts of the group. “The mission of the Jones County Community Foundation is to ‘enhance the quality of life in Jones County through giving,” he said. “We are so pleased to be able to support the great work of Maysville Fire and EMS and their dedicated volunteers because they make life better for every citizen in our area.”

Dan Ryan, grant chair of the Jones County Community Foundation noted that the grants would not be possible without the support of individuals and businesses in the community. “Our local donors are key to the success of this annual grant program,” he said. “Every dollar the Jones County Community Foundation raises stays right here in Jones County to support great nonprofit organizations.”

In the Spring of 2006, a group of concerned Jones County citizens came together to find a new way to enrich their community by increasing its charitable resources. These citizens formed the Jones County Community Foundation. The Board of Advisors all live or work in Jones County and serve as volunteers, so they are familiar with the community’s needs. Current members include: Vic Bryan (president), Allen Bender (vice-president), Ivy Reid (secretary/Treasurer), Dan Ryan (grant chair), Chris Henderson, (immediate past president), Eloise S. Body, Ramona S. Gonzalez, Jennifer Jefferson, Charley Jones, III, Ted Kahlert, Elwood Morris and Gloria Wiggins. The Jones County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation.