Community grants available from the Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount (July 2021)

The board of advisors of the Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation is accepting grant applications from nonprofits serving needs in the local community.

Funds are available for nonprofit organizations serving the local community in Rocky Mount and will be awarded from the community grantmaking fund. Grants typically range from $500 to $7,500.

Applications are available beginning Friday, July 16, 2021. Visit for information about applying. The deadline for applications is Tuesday, August 17 at noon.

Grants are not available for regranting purposes, capital campaigns, capital improvements, out-of-state travel or for individuals. Funds are awarded by the board of advisors of the Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation, an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation.

“The Rocky Mount community thrives thanks to nonprofit organizations,” said Deborah Sperati, board president. “Our board is proud to continue our tradition of serving these critical institutions.”

For further information, contact Kelly Lee, NCCF program officer, at or visit the NCCF website at

About the Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation for Greater Rocky Mount

The Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation (FMCF) is a growing family of philanthropic funds, source of grants for local causes and partner for donors. The FMCF was founded in 2005 and is led by a local volunteer advisory board that helps build community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of greater Rocky Mount.

The FMCF board advises the Futrell-Mauldin Fund, the unrestricted community grantmaking fund, to support local needs. The competitive grants program is held annually. Advisory board members live and work in Rocky Mount and Nash County, positioning them to strategically leverage resources, meet local needs and access opportunities. In addition to Sperati, board members include:  Sally Adams (Vice-President), Sheila Powell Martin (Secretary), Angela Burton Gailliard, Annie Daughtridge, Kevin G. Harris, Samuel Johnson, Gloria Wiggins-Hicks, William H. Kincheloe, Celeste M. Pittman, Braxton B. Townsend, Jr. and Elizabeth M. Turnage.

The Futrell-Mauldin Community Foundation, through the NCCF, makes it easy to become a philanthropist, whatever your means or charitable goals. You can open an endowment for your favorite cause at any time – or contribute to an existing fund in any amount. Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to the FMCF, can be mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, 3737 Glenwood Ave. Suite 460, Raleigh, NC 27612. Contributions can also be made online at

About the North Carolina Community Foundation

The NCCF is the single statewide community foundation serving North Carolina and has administered more than $184 million in grants since its inception in 1988. With more than $290 million in assets, NCCF sustains more than 1,200 endowments established to provide long-term support of a broad range of community needs, nonprofit organizations, institutions and scholarships. The NCCF partners with a network of affiliate foundations to provide local resource allocation and community assistance across the state. An important component of NCCF’s mission is to ensure that rural philanthropy has a voice at local, regional and national levels. For more information, visit

Media Contact

For more information:, (919) 828-4387