Do You Know a Volunteer Who Deserves the Hobart Award?

Nominations are open for the 2012 Frances Finch Hobart Award for voluntary community service, according to Butch Scott, president of the Johnston County Community Foundation.

The award is presented annually to an individual from Johnston County who has demonstrated a commitment to voluntary community service to his/her community resulting in a stronger community in which people can live, work and enjoy life.  Previous recipients include Evelyn Aranda, Noela Woodall, Linwood Byrd, Sarah Yard, Cornell Cox, and Don Stephenson.

The recipient of this award shall possess the ability to help others solve social problems by giving of his/her time, talent and energy.  This person shall demonstrate an actual accomplishment achieved through the work of volunteering, that through his/her volunteering a community need was met.  The person shall manifest the ability to mobilize other volunteers and display a willingness for on-going involvement.  The  recipient shall demonstrate vision, vitality, determination, selflessness, generosity, and a full, caring heart.

This year’s recipient will be publicly recognized during the 2012 Johnston County Community Foundation Awards event this fall and will be asked to select a local non-profit organization to receive a grant of $750.00 from the Frances Finch Hobart Award for Voluntary Community Service Fund.

Nomination forms are available by writing Jeanne Lawson at the North Carolina Community Foundation, 4601 Six Forks Road, Suite 524, Raleigh, NC 27609 or e-mailing The deadline for submitting nominations is May 2, 2012.  Completed forms are to be sent to Johnston County Community Foundation, P. O. Box 309, Four Oaks, NC 27524,  ATTN:  Wanda Blow.

Nomination Form