Johnston County Community Foundation accepting nominations for Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service (April 2018)

The Johnston County Community Foundation announces it is accepting nominations for the 2017 Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service.

This marks the 13th year in which a Johnston County resident is recognized for outstanding community service. The winner of the award will be asked to designate a local nonprofit organization to receive a $1,200 grant.

The Frances Finch Hobart Award for Volunteer Community Service is a fund of the Johnston County Community Foundation. The award seeks to recognize an individual who possesses the ability to help others solve social problems through time, talent and energy by mobilizing volunteers and displaying a willingness for ongoing involvement. The recipient should demonstrate vision, vitality, determination, selflessness, generosity and a caring heart.

Previous recipients include Anita Liverman, Anesha Johnson, Norwood Williams, Tom Ricks, Nikki Dyke, Evelyn Aranda, Don Stephenson, Cornell Cox, Sarah Yard, Linwood Byrd, Noela Woodall and Ramona Cash.

Nomination forms are available here. Nominations will be accepted from May 1 – May 30. Nominees from the previous year who did not receive the annual award will automatically be included as a new nominee in the current year’s process. For further information, contact NCCF Regional Director Quinn Novels at 919-256-6914 or