Our Board celebrates 15 years of giving back

 The Board of Directors of the Vance County Community Foundation, an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation, marked its 15-year anniversary last week at a special gathering of Board members and guests.

            Patricia Newhouse, Board Chair, congratulated the members and noted that over its 15-year history, the Board has distributed over $21,000 in grants to local non-profits. “We’ve been the deciding factor in funding projects that have directly impacted a lot of Vance County citizens,” she said. “Especially in a down economy, grant money has taken on new importance. Our grant-making endowment is now on a lot of non-profits’ radar to apply for funding. We’re making a difference to a lot of people.”

            Jeanne Lawson, Northern Piedmont Regional Associate, read greetings from Mr. James Narron, statewide Board Chair of the North Carolina Community Foundation, to the gathering. “Your leadership, generosity and vision have had a huge impact on Vance County. Congratulations, and I look forward to the next 15 years!” she read.

            Members of the Vance County Community Foundation include Missy Stewardson, Eva Brown, Brantley Pegram, James Edwards, Bebe Wester, Terri Hedrick, Fagan Goodwin, Patsy Pegram, Vanessa Jones, Kathy Caudle, Cece Leahy, Keesha Rowan, Tanya Evans, Gina Harris and Bonnie Howell.