Rockingham County Community Foundation awards local grants for 2013

The board of advisors of the Rockingham County Community Foundation announces 2013 awards from its community grantmaking fund, according to Fred Timper, board president. Board members and grant recipients enjoyed a nice reception Oct. 15 at MARC in Wentworth to celebrate this year’s grant recipients.

          This year’s nonprofit recipients include:

          “These grants are important to our community and our quality of life,” Timper said.  “Critical programs would not be possible without the generosity of many individuals and organizations that have supported Rockingham County’s community fund.”   

           RCCF board members include Cynthia Bolton, Ted Haapala, Mike Fargis, Ellen Pritchard, Fred Timper, Tommy Flynt, Ben Tucker, Scott Barham and Grayson Whitt.

          The Rockingham County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation. Tax-deductible contributions can be made to the Rockingham County Community Fund, which is administered by the NCCF. Contributions should be made payable to the Rockingham County Community Fund and mailed to the North Carolina Community Foundation, Landmark Center, 4601 Six Forks Road, Suite 524, Raleigh, NC 27609. Contributions can also be made online at

          For information on the Rockingham County Community Foundation and its community fund, please contact Regional Associate Mary Anne Howard at 919-256-6924.