Swain County Community Foundation announces local scholarships

The board of advisors of the Swain County Community Foundation announces the availability of the Bob Robinson Family Scholarship, Julia Hunt Scholarship, McCracken Family Scholarship, McHan-Freeman-Shuler Scholarship, Swain County Public Schools Scholarship, and many other statewide scholarships, according to John Burton, board president.

Burton said this is a good opportunity for Swain County students to further their educations. “The Swain County board wants to raise awareness among area youth about opportunities offered through scholarships held with the North Carolina Community Foundation,” he said. The Swain County Community Foundation is an affiliate of NCCF.

Scholarships are available for students meeting various eligibility requirements detailed online, where applications can be downloaded. Applications also may be available at the high schools. The deadline for submitting applications is posted on the NCCF website.

About Swain County Community Foundation:
The Swain County Community Foundation is an affiliate of the North Carolina Community Foundation. In addition to Burton, SCCF board members include: Toby Allman, Mary Anne Baker, Ashley Butcher, Christine Colcord, Robyn Duncan, Mark Hanna, Robert Loafman, Brandy Monteith, Heather Parton, Jeremiah Wiggins and Karen Wilmot.

For further information, contact Western Regional Associate Sue LeLievre or call (800) 201-9532.