Unifour Foundation Endowment Fund of the Catawba Valley Community Foundation

Program overview

The Unifour Foundation was created when the Hickory Merchants Association sold its local credit reporting company to a national company, enabling the creation of the Unifour Foundation in 1999, which is one of 67 endowments that make up the Catawba Valley Community Foundation. The Unifour Foundation promotes general welfare among citizens in the four counties that comprise the Unifour area: Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, and Catawba.

A grants committee representing former members of the Hickory Merchants Association and other community leaders reviews applications and makes selections for grant funding.

Since 1991, the Unifour Foundation has awarded more than $4 million in grants. Grants have generally ranged between $5,000 and $10,000. 

2019 grantmaking

In 2019, the Unifour Foundation Endowment will award grants in Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, and Catawba counties. Funding supports a broad range of purposes to meet local needs that include education, human services, basic needs, arts, historical preservation, health, recreation, youth development, environment and animal welfare.

The Unifour Foundation is especially interested in applications that highlight collaboration and partnerships or demonstrate an opportunity to achieve significant impact on the Catawba Valley. Larger grant amounts may be considered for applications that benefit multiple partners, and/or unique approaches to addressing early childhood education and substance abuse.

The 2019 grant cycle opens on Friday, March 1, 2019 and closes at NOON on Tuesday, April 2, 2019. 

  • If you have not already done so, you must read the guidelines before you apply. Failure to adhere to any of these guidelines may result in your application being excluded from consideration.
  • Training Module I will walk you through creating a profile; Module II shows how to add a grant application.

Click here to access our online application system. Additional information about the grants process will be available once you register.

Board members

  • Jamie Treadaway, President
  • Chip Huffman
  • Grey Scheer
  • Sam Avery
  • Nancy Fritz
  • Lee Rogers
  • Patty Schenk